McMaster University

McMaster University


Post Doctoral Fellows

Photo Name/Information Methods and Techniques

John-Paul Oliveria

PhD or


Supervisor: Dr. Gauvreau

Project Titles: Immunobiology of B cells (IgE + B cells and regulatory B cells) in allergic disease

Selected Publications:

  • Oliveria JP, Salter BM, MacLean J, Kotwal S, Smith A, Harris JM, Scheerens H, Sehmi R, Gauvreau GM. Increased IgE+ B cells in sputum, but not blood, bone marrow or tonsils after inhaled allergen challenge in asthmatic subjects. 2017. American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine. 196(1):107-109. DOI: 10.1164/rccm.201611-2274LE. PMID: 28665197.
  • Oliveria JP, Salter BM, Phan S, Obminski CD, Munoz CE, Smith SG, Scime TX, Watson RM, Sehmi R, Gauvreau GM. Allergic asthmatics with allergy have elevated levels of IgE+ B cells in the airways. 2017. Journal of Allergyand Clinical Immunology.140(2):590-593.e9. DOI:10.1016/j.jaci.2016.12.981. PMID: 28213181.


Yanqing (Alice) Xie



Supervisor: Dr. O'Byrne

Project Titles: Nasal Allergen Challenge - reproductibility of biomarkers and effects of topical steroids










Dhuha Al-Sajee




Supervisor: Dr. O'Byrne

Project Titles: Investigating the role of epithelial-derived cytokines in asthma

Research Interests: Atopic Dermatitis


Masanobu Matsuoka




Supervisor: Dr. Gauvreau

Project Titles: New Subset of Regulatory T Cells in Allergic Asthma


Imran Satia




Supervisor: Dr. Dr. O'Byrne

Project Titles: Mechanisms of Cough in Asthma

Selected Publications:


  • Satia I, Badri H, Woodhead M, O'Byrne PM, Fowler SJ, Smith JA. The interaction between bronchoconstriction and cough in asthma.Thorax. 2017 Dec;72(12):1144-1146. 
  • Satia I, Tsamandouras N, Holt K, Badri H, Woodhead M, Ogungbenro K, Felton TW, O'Byrne PM, Fowler SJ, Smith JA. Capsaicin-evoked cough responses in asthmatic patients: Evidence for airway neuronal dysfunction. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 2017 Mar;139(3):771-779

Graduate Students

Tim (Xiaotian) Ju
MSc Candidate

Supervisor: Dr. Sehmi

Project Outline:

Type 2 and 3 Innate Lymphoid Cells in Allergic Disease



Emma Price
MSc Candidate

Supervisor: Dr. Gauvreau

Project Outline:

Effects of oral steroids on skin with severe atopic dermatitis


Sai Sakktee Krisna
MSc Candidate

Supervisor: Dr. Sehmi

Project Outline

Effects of oral steroids on Type 2 Innate Lymphoid Cells in severe atopic dermatitis


(905) 525-9140 ex. 22561



Selected Publications/Abstracts


  • Human Bronchial Epithelial Cell-Derived Factors from Severe Asthmatic Subjects Stimulate Eosinophil Differentiation. Brittany MA Salter Steven G Smith, Manali Mukherjee, Sophie Plante, Sakktee Krisna, Graeme Nusca, John Paul Oliveria, Anam Irshad, Gail M Gauvreau, Jamila Chakir, Parameswaran Nair, and Roma Sehmi.



Undergraduate Students


Past Fellows

Name Supervisor Period
Brittany Salter, PhD PDF    
Naji Nazir, MD PDF    
Takashi Kinoshita, MD PDF    
Amani El-Gammel, MD PDF    
Mylinh Duong, MD PDF    
Ruchong Chen, MD PDF    
Rei Fujiki, MD PDF Dr. O'Byrne  
Patrick Mitchell, MD PDF    
Steve Smith, MD PDF Dr. Gauvreau  
Takeshi Morimoto, MD PDF    



Past Graduate Students

Benny Dua, MSc PhD 2006-2013 (Dr. O'Bryne). Lena Saleh, MSc 2003-2005 (Dr. O'Bryne).

Ashley Gluchowski, MSc 2007-2010 (Dr. Gauvreau). Zahida Meghji, MSc 2007-2009 (Dr. O'Bryne).

Elaine Keung, MSc 2006-2008 (Dr. Killian). Eric Farrell, MSc 2004-2006 (Dr. O'Byrne).

Candice Todd, MSc 2008-2010 (Dr. Gauvreau). Michelle Evans, MSc 2005-2007 (Dr. Gauvreau).

Trudy MacLean, MSc 2004-2006 (Dr. Gauvreau). Steve Smith, PhD. PDF 2006-2012 (Gauvereau)

Brittany Salter, PhD. PDF 2010-2015 (Gauvreau)

Past Undergraduate Students

Y Kwong 2007-2009 (Dr. Gauvreau). R Agayby 2011-2012 (Dr. Gauvreau). R Murji 2007-2008 (Dr. Gauvreau).

MM Raja 2010-2011 (Dr. Gauvreau). M Mistry 2009-2010 (Dr. Gauvreau). S Paloni 2010-2011 (Dr. Gauvreau).

Z Sohani 2008-2010 (Dr. Gauvreau). JP Oliveria 2010-2011 (Dr. Gauvreau). K Peng 2008-2009 (Dr. Gauvreau).

A Andree 2008-2009 (Dr. Gauvreau). I Remtulla 2006/2007 (Dr. Gauvreau). C. Ross, 2013-2014 (Gauvreau)

C Shenouda 2008-2009 (Dr. Gauvreau). A Schermel 2008-2009 (Dr. Gauvreau).

J Beswick 2007-2008 (Dr. Gauvreau). N Jiwan 2007-2008 (Dr. Gauvreau). E Ho 2005-2007 (Dr. Gauvreau).

M Wang 2012-2013(Dr. Gauvreau). M Kang 2004-2005 (Dr. Gauvreau). M. Tenn, 2014-2015 (Gauvreau)

S. Phan, 2013-2014 (Gauvreau) Z. Zhang, 2015-2016 (Gauvreau). M. Tran, 2015-2016 (Gauvreau)

C. Olesovsky, 2015-2016 (Gauvreau)

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0