Press Enter to skip to navigation for Network

McMaster Faculty of Health Sciences Newsmagazine — Volume 9, Issue 3, Fall 2015

Chair of Medicine receives top Canadian recognition

Paul O'Byrne, chair of the Department of Medicine at the Michael G DeGroote School of Medicine, was one of 35 new fellows inducted into  the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS).

The induction ceremony took place September 17th and 18th at its 2015 forum and annual general meeting, in Ottawa. The CAHS works in partnership with the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Engineeringto form the three member academies of the Council of Canadian Academies. Fellows elected to the Academy are recognized by their peers nationally and internationally for their contributions to the promotion of health science and is considered one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community.

O'Byrne is internationally recognized for seminal contributions into understanding the causes and treatment of asthma, including the first studies of the central role of airway inflammation in its initiation and persistence.

His work has explained the mechanisms of allergen-induced inflammatory responses and aided the development of anti-leukotrienes as a new asthma treatment. He has published extensively in the most highly cited peer-reviewed journals and his studies of asthma treatment have influenced treatment guidelines worldwide.

McMaster's Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellows

  • Stephanie Atkinson
  • Andrea Baumann
  • Mohit Bhandari
  • John Bienenstock
  • Regina Browne
  • Deborah Cook
  • Stephen Collins
  • Alba DiCenso
  • Gordon Guyatt
  • Brian Haynes
  • John Kelton
  • Mary Law
  • Joy MacDermid
  • Paul O'Byrne
  • David Sackett
  • John L Wallace
  • Jeffrey I. Weitz
  • Salim Yusuf