McMaster University

McMaster University

Tenure & Promotion Committee - Terms of Reference


To adhere to and ensure the application of University policy and regulations with respect to academic assessments for tenure and promotion (see McMaster University Revised Policy and Regulations with Respect to Academic Appointment, Tenure and Promotion, 2007).

The committee will review and make recommendations to the Department Chair on all candidates being considered for extension of a current appointment, promotion to the next higher academic rank and/or the granting of Tenure/CAWAR.

Voting members of the Departmental Committee must be full time tenured/CAWAR faculty at the Associate or full Professor Rank.  Emeritus Professors are not eligible to sit as voting members.

The Chair and Vice Chair(s) will serve as Ex-Officio Members, the Division Heads will serve as Standing Members, and the remaining three voting faculty members will be appointed by the Chair at the Associate Professor Rank. 

Each Division Head will submit a selection of candidates from the Associate Professor Rank to the Chair for consideration.  The Chair, in consultation with the Director of Oncology, will appoint one member from each division to serve on the committee.

Appointed members serve three year terms, and are not eligible for reappointment for the term immediately following their tenure.  They shall be appointed for staggered three-year terms.

Meeting Frequency: Three times a year or at the discretion of the Chair as required.


Committee Chair:
Department Chair

Vice-Chair, Education

Vice-Chair, Research

Standing Members:
Division Head, Medical Oncology
Division Head, Radiation Oncology
Representative, Hematology Oncology
Appointed Members:
Three full time tenured/CAWAR faculty, at the Associate Professor rank. One faculty member appointed from each division.
Director, Department of Oncology
Coordinator, Department of Oncology
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0