Division of Hematology & Thromboembolism

Faculty and Staff


The faculty involved in the Transfusion Medicine Program at McMaster University consists of Transfusion Medicine specialists from the Division of Hematology and Thromboembolism, Department of Medicine and from the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine. Highly skilled laboratory technicians and technical specialists make up an integral part of the teaching faculty.

Name

University Rank or Position

Subspecialty

Position in the TM program (eg. rotation supervisor, teaching faculty)

Contact Info

Dr. Michelle Zeller Assistant Professor Hematology, Transfusion Medicine Program Director zeller@mcmaster.ca
MUMC, Room 3H50
X76404
Dr. Donald M. Arnold Associate Professor Hematology, Transfusion Medicine Reseach Supervisor arnold@mcmaster.ca
MUMC, Room 3H50
X76305
Andrea Sommerville Administrative Assistant Hematology, Transfusion Medicine Postgraduate Education Coordinator

somervam@mcmaster.ca
MUMC Room 3N26D
X22183
Fax: 905-521-2613

Prof. Nancy Heddle Professor Emeritus Hematology Rotation supervisor (MUMC rotation) heddlen@mcmaster.ca
MUMC Room 3H50
X26800
Dr. John Kelton Professor Hematology, Pathology Clinical teaching

keltonj@mcmaster.ca
MUMC Room 3H42
X22414

Dr. Kathryn Webert Medical Director Utilization Management Canadian Blood Services kathryn.webert@blood.ca
Ancaster, Ontario
905.304.7282
Jim Smith Laboratory Manager Pathology (Platelet Immunology) Teaching faculty smithjw@mcmaster.ca
MUMC Room 3H42
X22414
Dr. Ronan Foley Associate Professor Hematology, Pathology Rotation Supervisor (Juravinski Hospital rotation) foleyr@hhsc.ca
Juravinski Site, 2nd floor
X42074
Dr. Ted Warkentin Professor Hematology, Pathology Rotation supervisor (Hamilton General Hospital rotation) twarken@mcmaster.ca
HGH Site, Room 1-180D
X46139
Dr. Madelaine Verhovsek Assistant Professor Hematology Rotation Supervisor (St. Joseph’s Hospital rotation) verhovm@mcmaster.ca
SJH Site, Room L-208
905.521.6024
Dr. Menaka Pai Assistant Professor Hematology, Pathology Teaching faculty mpai@mcmaster.ca
HGH Site, Room 1-270A
X46139
Dr. Robert Skeate   Medical Director of Ontario Canadian Blood Services robert.skeate@blood.ca
Toronto, Ontario
416.313.4581
Dr. Kylie Lepic Assistant Professor Hematology Teaching faculty

lepic@hhsc.ca
JHCC, Room A3-75
X73390

Dr. Azim Gangji Associate Professor Medicine, Nephrology Teaching faculty gangjias@mcmaster.ca
SJH, 3rd Floor, M314
X33261
Allahna Elahie Technical Specialist Transfusion Medicine Teaching faculty elahie@hhsc.ca
MUMC, Transfusion Medicine
Anna MacDonald Technical Specialist Transfusion Medicine Teaching faculty amacdon@hhsc.ca
JHCC, Section A, Level 0
Room 107 X42098
Sandra Fazari Technical Specialist
Transfusion Safety Officer
Transfusion Medicine Teaching faculty fazari@hhsc.ca
HGH
X46465
Terry Owenson Medical Laboratory Technologist Transfusion Medicine Teaching faculty towenson@stjosham.on.ca
SJH, Luke Wing L404
X33020