McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

McMaster honours nine for outstanding achievement

Ceremony celebrates Faculty's roots and founders

Published: Nov. 21, 2003

A former McMaster University president, the founding dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, and a nursing school visionary were honoured today by having their portraits hung at the University.

The photographs and biographies of nine former faculty members are displayed in a Community of Distinction on a second floor wall in McMaster's Health Sciences Centre. All were chosen for outstanding leadership and distinguished contributions through outstanding scholarship and innovative research.

  • Dr. Harry Thode - president of McMaster from 1961 to 1972
  • Dr. Murray Enkin - an advocate for change, and faculty member in obstetrics and gynecology
  • Dr. David Sackett - founder of Canada's first Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics
  • Dr. May Cohen - family physician and promoter of the equality of women in medicine
  • Dr. John Basmajian - professor of medicine and biomedical sciences, and a leader in the field of rehabilitation science
  • Dr. Alma Reid - director of the School of Nursing from 1949 to 1970.
  • Dr. Jerry Dolovich - pediatrician and founder of the Division of Allergy and Immunology at McMaster
  • Dr. Fraser Mustard - instrumental in the development of the new medical school curriculum and its research capability
  • Dr. John Evans - the founding Dean of McMaster's Faculty of Medicine.

"We're a relatively young Faculty, but we have a remarkable history of excellence and innovation," said Dr. John Kelton, dean and vice-president of the Faculty. "The Faculty of Health Sciences' strengths today build upon the work of pioneers from the past."

"It's important we recognize the individuals who have put us on the map."

The 120-foot gallery is along the west wall between the School of Nursing offices and the Ewart Angus Centre. The wall also contains recognition of the Faculty of Health Sciences' affiliated hospitals: Hamilton Health Sciences, St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton and St. Peter's Health System.

Up to five individuals will be selected annually for the wall. Those eligible include alumni and anyone who is, or has been, faculty or staff of the Faculty. Membership of the selection committee includes the Faculty's dean and representatives of its staff and alumni.

Inductee Biographies

John Basmajian MD is internationally recognized as a leader in the field of rehabilitation science, specifically in the area of electromyography. At McMaster he was a Professor of Medicine with a joint appointment to Biomedical Sciences from 1977 to 1986. Well known as a pioneer of biofeedback, a technique widely used in rehabilitation, he is also the inventor of several medical devices. The author or editor of 66 books and nearly 400 scientific articles, Dr. Basmajian has been a mentor to many students, physiotherapists and physicians.

Jerry Dolovich MD founded the Division of Allergy and Immunology at McMaster and was a Professor of Pediatrics from 1968 to 1997. Credited with important discoveries in the diagnosis and treatment of asthma and allergies, he had a worldwide influence in his specialities. He was a humane and compassionate clinician, who made patient care and patient education top priorities in both his research and teaching. In 1990, Dr. Dolovich wrote the first Canadian Asthma Guidelines. In 1997, he was named Distinguished Clinician by the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology.

Murray Enkin MD brought care and compassion together with a progressive attitude to advocate change within the field of obstetrics and gynecology. He joined the Faculty of Health Sciences in 1965 and taught until 1988. Dr. Enkin sought valid evidence for the improvement of childbirth practices and an increase in options for pregnant women. His broadminded views led him to be an early supporter of midwifery education and practice. Dr. Enkin co-wrote the internationally published and widely read reference book, A Guide to Effective Care in Pregnancy and Childbirth.

Alma Reid PhD was Director of the School of Nursing from 1949 to 1970. During this time her dedication and vision lead the school to great change. As well as increasing enrolment, she was instrumental in integrating the School of Nursing into the Faculty of Health Sciences, fostering the interdisciplinary spirit at McMaster. Dr. Reid promoted nursing within McMaster, as well as nationally and internationally, taking leadership roles within many professional organizations. As a teacher, she is known for encouraging self-direction and valuing personal differences.

David Sackett MD founded Canada's first Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics and chaired the Division of Internal Medicine. At McMaster from 1967 to 1994, he developed and mentored a new breed of applied clinician-scientists and worked with them to create and disseminate evidence-based medicine throughout the world. His collaborative research teams were the first to validate the efficacy of aspirin and carotid endarterectomy for patients with threatened stroke, to develop effective strategies for helping hypertensive patients and to generate compelling evidence of the effectiveness of nurse practitioners.

Henry (Harry) Thode PhD was President of McMaster from 1961 to 1972. Under his guidance, McMaster became what it is today; respected worldwide for groundbreaking research and excellent education. His vision and leadership allowed for the innovative approach of the medical school, and later, the development of the Faculty of Health Sciences. Dr. Thode also initiated the construction of the Health Sciences Centre. As a scientist, he is known for his contributions to the field of atomic energy. As a leader, he is known for his commitment and devotion to McMaster.

J. Fraser Mustard MD joined the Faculty of Health Sciences in 1966, becoming involved in developing both the medical school curriculum and its research capability. From 1972 to 1982 he was Dean and Vice-President, and during that time he was responsible for the School of Nursing assisting in the development of nursing at Aga Khan University in Pakistan. His influence extended beyond the University with contributions to research and health care policy. He is world-renowned for his work on platelets, vessel injury and the effect of aspirin. In 1982, Dr. Mustard founded the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research.

John Evans, MD was appointed founding Dean of McMaster's Faculty of Medicine in 1965, serving until 1972. Under his leadership, a group of innovative educators began developing an undergraduate medical program that defied convention by emphasizing self-directed learning. Dr. Evans pioneered the problem-based learning curriculum that influenced health care education worldwide and became the hallmark of McMaster's integrated Faculty of Health Sciences. Dr. Evans also made significant contributions as an international health adviser and researcher, conducting a global study of public health and population-based medicine in 1979 and chairing the international Commission on Health Research for Development in 1988.

May Cohen MD worked to promote the equality and well being of women, both as providers and beneficiaries of health care. She joined the Department of Family Medicine in 1977 and was Associate Dean, Health Services from 1991 to 1996. As an educator, researcher and clinician, she sought to raise awareness of gender and equity issues in medicine. Dr. Cohen has been highly regarded for combining caring with passionate activism to improve the lives of women. Her legacy continues with the annual May Cohen Lectureship in Women's Health and the Eli Lilly May Cohen Chair in Women's Health.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0