McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Five inducted to Community of Distinction

Published: November 10 , 2006
Distinction 2006
There are now 23 members of the Faculty of Health Sciences Community of Distinction.

A champion of problem-based learning, a leader who shaped health care research, a facilitator of the new health sciences centre, a scientist of population health, and a nursing professor who took McMaster's multi-professional team-building approach abroad, are being honoured by McMaster University's Faculty of Health Sciences.

Edwin E. Daniel, Michael Gent, Ludmila (Niky) Melichar, George Torrance, and Karin C. von Schilling will be inducted into the Community of Distinction of the Faculty during a ceremony at 4 p.m. in the Health Sciences Centre today (Friday, November 10).

The photographs and biographies of the five will join the gallery on a second floor wall in McMaster's Health Sciences Centre. Click here to view bios and photos.

"The five people being inducted today are joining an elite group," said Dr. John Kelton, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences and dean of the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine. "Through their scholarship and research activities, and their unvarying support of the Faculty of Health Sciences, they have all had an extremely positive impact on our health care community and McMaster's reputation for excellent research and scholarship."

Up to five individuals are selected annually to join the Community of Distinction. The gallery was set up to honour alumni, faculty and staff who have brought distinction and recognition to McMaster University and the Faculty of Health Sciences through innovative scholarship and outstanding research. Click here to view the complete Community of Distinction.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0