McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Health Sciences Convocation, Friday, May 19

Published: May 19, 2006
Charles and Margaret Juravinski will receive honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) degrees

The largest ever class of physicians will graduate today from the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine. Joining the 139 new medical doctors at the McMaster University Faculty of Health Sciences convocation are 8 doctors of philosophy, 19 Masters of Science, two Masters of Science in occupational therapy, 13 midwives and 79 students from the Bachelor of Health Sciences (Honours) program. Diplomas will also be awarded in Child Life Studies (10), Occupational Health and Safety (14), and Health Services and Policy Research (1).

The Hamilton Place convocation is held at 2:30 p.m. and the degrees will be conferred by McMaster Chancellor Mel Hawkrigg.

John Kelton, dean and vice-president of McMaster's Faculty of Health Sciences, and dean of the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, said: "We are graduating the health care professionals who’ll become tomorrow’s leaders. They will push for change and develop new procedures and policies because it will improve the health prospects for all their patients. "

Ronald Bayne, professor emeritus of Medicine, will receive an honorary Doctor of Sciences (D.Sc.) degree and give the convocation address. Dr. Bayne is a pioneer in geriatric medicine and gerontology in Canada. He developed programs over several years to prevent the warehousing of elderly and chronically ill people. He joined the McMaster health sciences faculty in 1970. The community assessment and placement program that he set up to guide chronically disabled patients into appropriate levels of long-term care is the approach the Ontario Government adopted in establishing Community Care Access Centres across the province. Bayne developed St. Peter’s Hospital as the back-up resource for nursing homes and seniors’ centres.

Family Medicine Photo
Ronald Bayne

Hamilton philanthropists Charles and Margaret Juravinski, strong supporters of research and education, will receive honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) degrees.

Graduates of the combined Mohawk, McMaster, Conestoga nursing program will receive their Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees at a separate ceremony on June 9.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0