McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Submissions for Community of Distinction

June 1 deadline

Published: May 11, 2006

The Faculty of Health Sciences is looking to honour up to five more people whose accomplishments in health sciences have brought worldwide renown to the Faculty and McMaster University.

This is the fourth time that nominations have been sought for a group of three to five contributors to be inducted into the Community of Distinction.

The Community began in 2003, when the portraits of the inaugural group of nine McMaster educators, researchers and clinicians - along with brief descriptions of their outstanding accomplishments - were placed in a 40-metre gallery on a second floor west wall in McMaster’s Health Sciences Centre.

In the past two years, an additional nine people have been inducted into the Community of Distinction. The gallery now features: Dr. John Basmajian, Dr. Jerry Dolovich, Dr. Murray Enkin, Alma Reid, Dr. David Sackett, Dr. Harry Thode, Dr. J. Fraser Mustard, Dr. John Evans, Dr. May Cohen, Dr. Moran Campbell, Dr. Susan French, Beatrix Robinow, Dr. Bill Spaulding, Dr. William Walsh, Dr. James Anderson, Dr. Howard Barrows, Dr. Barber Mueller and Dr. Dan Offord.

The deadline for nominations this year is June 1.

Individuals chosen will be notified by the Dean and Vice-President, and invited to attend the announcement and induction at a ceremony on Friday, November 10, 2006.

As in the past, the criterion is distinguished contribution in scholarship or in the science or delivery of health care, or demonstrated outstanding leadership that is recognized by peers. Those eligible include alumni and anyone who is a retired faculty or staff member of the Faculty of Health Sciences. The outline of requirements for nominations is below.

Community of Distinction

All 2006 Community of Distinction nominations should be sent, via e-mail, to Ruth Mullin at

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0