McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Two Faculty researchers named University Scholars

Published: May 16, 2019
James MacKillop (left) and Michael McGillion (right)
James MacKillop (left) and Michael McGillion (right)

Two professors of the Faculty of Health Sciences are among six McMaster faculty members named 2019 University Scholars, an award that recognizes the achievements of mid-career researchers.

James MacKillop, professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences and Michael McGillion, associate professor, School of Nursing have taken the title worth $15,000 each year of the four-year award provided by McMaster's provost and vice-president academic and the Faculty's dean.

University Scholars have distinguished themselves as international scholars and have demonstrated a commitment to the discovery, communication and preservation of knowledge, excellence in education and pedagogy, and to serving local and global communities.

James MacKillop is the inaugural holder of the Peter Boris Chair in Addictions Research and he is director of the Peter Boris Centre for Addictions Research and co-director of the Michael G. DeGroote Centre for Medicinal Cannabis Research.

Michael McGillion is the assistant dean, research of the School of Nursing and he holds the Heart and Stroke Foundation/Michael G. DeGroote Chair in Cardiovascular Nursing Research.

The other University Scholars announced are Thomas Adams, associate professor of the Department of Chemical Engineering; Joanna Wilson, associate professor of the Department of Biology; Suzanne Mills, associate professor of the School of Labour Studies and Michael Schultz, associate professor in the School of the Arts.


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0