McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Community of Distinction to welcome trio of leaders

Published: October 30, 2019
Gina Browne, the late Del Harnish, and Malcolm Sears are the 2019 Community of Distinction inductees.
Gina Browne, the late Del Harnish, and Malcolm Sears are the 2019 Community of Distinction inductees.

Three professors of the Faculty of Health Sciences who brought distinction and recognition to McMaster University and the Faculty through their innovative teaching, outstanding scholarship and innovative research, will join its Community of Distinction in a ceremony on Friday, Nov. 8 at 4 p.m.

This year's inductees are Gina Browne of the School of Nursing, Malcolm Sears of the Department of Medicine, and the late Delsworth Harnish, vice-dean of undergraduate education for the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Gina Browne has been a trailblazer in advancing evidence-informed innovations in care and service delivery for vulnerable populations. She became renowned as a distinguished researcher, scholar and educator while at the School of Nursing from 1971 until retirement as a professor in 2015. She dedicated much of her work to marginalized communities, mental health and chronic disease.

Malcolm Sears came to McMaster in 1990 and spent the next 29 years making ground-breaking contributions as a researcher and clinician on asthma, with his research particularly focused on children. He was the founding director for the Canadian Healthy Infant Longitudinal Development (CHILD) Study, a comprehensive birth cohort study allowing evaluation of genetic, epigenetic, host and environmental factors and health issues.

Del Harnish, who was vice-dean of undergraduate education when he died in 2018, had a reputation an educator and champion of inquiry-based, student-centred pedagogy. A successful virologist who joined McMaster in 1984, he was the Bachelor of Health Sciences Honours program's founding assistant dean from 2000 to 2015. He established its trail-blazing reputation and made it the most sought-after undergraduate program in the country.

The event in the lobby of the Ewart Angus Centre of the Health Sciences Centre is open to all faculty, staff and students of the Faculty, as well as the colleagues, family and friends of the honourees. Please RSVP at or by calling 905-525-9140, ext. 27400.

The gallery was established in 2003 to honour those who have, through their excellence, put the University and Faculty on the world stage.

More about the Faculty's Community of Distinction is here.


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0