McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Family medicine faculty harvest awards

Published: November 15, 2018
Dee Mangin and Gina Agarwal talk with David Price.
Dee Mangin and Gina Agarwal talk with David Price.

Ten faculty members of the Department of Family Medicine are gathering up a wide range of awards this month.

Gina Agarwal, an associate professor of family medicine, is receiving an international award from the North American Primary Care Research Group. She is being toasted with the Mid-Career Researcher Award, which is given in recognition of outstanding research accomplishments and with significant recognition for a mid-career researcher.

David Price, professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine, has received the Jean-Pierre Despins Award from the College of Family Physicians of Canada. This award recognizes an "outstanding advocate and public spokesperson for family medicine, family physicians and their patients."

From the college, professor Dee Mangin will receive the Donald I. Rice Award, which is given out every two years. This award funds a leader in Canadian primary care to travel across the country to give keynote addresses and talks to academic, healthcare and government organizations. She will be talking about her work and about future opportunities and directions for primary care.

Several family medicine faculty members will receive an Award of Excellence at the college's conference this week. This includes associate clinical professor Dorothy Bakker and assistant clinical professors Amy Montour, Joan Mackenzie Chan, Caroline Collins, Yelena Chorny, and Mohamed Alarakhia.

In addition, Joe Lee has been named the 2018 recipient of the Regional Family Physician of the Year Award by the Ontario College of Family Physicians.

The provincial college awards seven physicians, one for each region, for their exemplary care and passion for contributing to family medicine.

Lee, who is an associate clinical professor for the Waterloo Regional Campus of the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, was the recipient for the region of Hamilton-Niagara-Haldimand-Brant and Waterloo Wellington.

"I'm thrilled that so many of our outstanding faculty are being recognized, and for such diverse reasons," said Price. "We have a wealth of expertise in our department in education, research and clinical care, and it is wonderful to see so many recognized in this way."

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0