McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Guyatt and Cohen speak at symposium before joining Hall of Fame

Published: April 13, 2016
May Cohen
Dr. May Cohen
Gordon Guyatt
Dr. Gordon Guyatt

Two McMaster University professors are among six Canadians were inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame at a gala in Hamilton on Apr. 14.

Although more than 500 of Canada's leaders in medicine will gather for the evening gala at the Hamilton Convention Centre, earlier that day four of the new inductees will talk about their careers at a public symposium.

McMaster's inductees are Dr. Gordon Guyatt, Distinguished University Professor of clinical epidemiology and biostatistics, and Dr. May Cohen, professor emeritus of family medicine. They are being honoured for their career contributions to advancing health sciences in Canada.

Guyatt and Cohen, along with the fellow inductees — preeminent medical historian Michael Bliss and HIV/AIDS expert Mark Wainberg — shared inspirational stories about their work in the field of medicine at the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame 2016 Laureate Symposium held earlier in the day.

Guyatt, a faculty member since 1983, has made ground-breaking contributions in the measurement of health-related quality of life and led the initial development of the concept of evidence-based medicine (EBM).

He also led the formation of an international group that further developed EBM concepts with landmark publications in the Journal of American Medical Association. A series of more than 35 articles called the "Users Guides to the Medical Literature" has provided the basis of EBM curricula in medical schools and residency programs worldwide.

Cohen has dedicated her career to promoting the equality and well-being of women both as providers and beneficiaries of health care.

She joined the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine in 1977 after a 20 year career as a family physician in Toronto. Cohen was associate dean, health services, from 1991 to 1996. She co-founded the first Faculty of Medicine Women's Health Office in 1991, inspiring several medical schools to follow suit and resulting in the creation of the Women's Health InterSchool Curriculum Committee for Ontario's medical schools.

Also in this year's group of inductees are C. David Naylor, a physician-scientist and former dean and president emeritus at the University of Toronto, and Sir Charles Tupper, the only physician to have served as Prime Minster of Canada.

"We are delighted to partner with The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame to host this year's induction ceremony in Hamilton and to honour Canada's most accomplished medical innovators," said Dr. John Kelton, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences. "This is an appropriate accolade for Canadians who have established and grown our country's global reputation in medicine."

"With the Induction Ceremony we honour excellence, preserve history and connect generations," said Dr. Jean Gray, chair of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. "These Canadian heroes have not only furthered health, but they serve as an inspiration to all Canadians and to our future health leaders, including the 50 medical students who will attend the event."

Guyatt and Cohen join McMaster University faculty members Jack Hirsh, John Bienenstock and Salim Yusuf, as well as the late John Evans, David Sackett and Fraser Mustard, in the Hall of Fame.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0