McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

FHS staff win President's Awards for outstanding service

Published: June 5, 2015
Team recipients of the President's Award from the Education Program in Anatomy
The team recipients of the President's Award from the Education Program in Anatomy, back row from left: Andrew Palombella, Caitlin O'Connell and Michael Romaniuk; front row from left: Patricia Hartnett, Liz Jensen, Sue Dingle and McMaster University President Patrick Deane. Absent from photo: Glen Oomen. — Photo by Ron Scheffler

Staff of the Education Program in Anatomy and Mary Hickey from the office of the associate vice-president, academic, are recipients of this year's President's Awards.

The staff were honoured for their outstanding service to the McMaster community and for making significant contributions in 2014 to forward the mission of the University. President Patrick Deane presented the awards at a reception this week.

The award winners of the Education Program in Anatomy are Sue Dingle, Glen Oomen, Patricia Hartnett, Liz Jensen, Caitlin O'Connell, Andrew Palombella and Michael Romaniuk. They were recognized with a team award for their efforts in developing e-books to enhance undergraduate and graduate teaching. The team had a tight timeline, beginning the project in May 2014 with the material developed and ready for classes in September 2014. 

Mary Hickey
Mary Hickey

The arduous undertaking involved the creation of unique electronic educational materials including pop-up boxes on definitions, "did you know" facts and quizzes, videos embedded in text, links to notes, questions and resources including anatomical specimens housed in the anatomy laboratory, case studies and other features.

The project attracted as many as 55,000 page views per week and sold more than 800 copies. The project's success has led to the creation of an e-book 'foundry' that will develop additional health science e-books.  

Mary Hickey, executive assistant to Susan Denburg, associate vice-president, academic of the FHS, was recognized with an award for her excellence in maintaining an exceptionally organized and efficient office.

Hickey has been Denburg's assistant for 16 years, supporting her through various roles and excelling in keeping projects on track, juggling complicated schedules and working with others.

Other Faculty staff nominated for President's Awards this year included Tracy Carr, director of administration for the Department of Family Medicine, and Corrina MacDonald, senior research accountant for the FHS.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0