McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

New OMA president and Distinguished 2014 Award Winners

Published: April 28, 2014
Ved Tandan
Ved Tandan, associate professor, Department of Surgery and president, Ontario Medical Association

Dr. Ved Tandan, envisions a health system that breaks down the walls between hospitals, doctors' offices and the community — where care is truly centered around the patient, and teams of providers come together to deliver seamless, highly coordinated care to patients wherever they are, whenever they need it.

As the new president of the Ontario Medical Association, Dr. Tandan, associate professor of surgery in the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, pledged that he will work toward this future by beginning to dismantle the walls that block the system from being the best it can be.

At an OMA celebration on April 27, Dr. Tandan congratulated several dozen of Ontario's most brilliant and committed physicians, medical students and other leaders who are helping to make healthcare better.

"Whether due to the leadership and passion demonstrated at such an early stage by medical students, or the dedication and talent displayed by seasoned physicians and other professionals, this year's award winners are tremendously impressive," said Tandan. "On behalf of all Ontario physicians, I congratulate them."

Announcement of new OMA President

OMA award winners from McMaster University

  • Dr. Frank BaillieOntario Medical Association Life Membership Award — awarded to those members who have made an outstanding contribution to the works of the Association, the medical profession and medical science, or common good at the provincial level, and have reached the age of 65.
  • Dr. J. Mark WaltonAdvocate for Students and Residents Award — awarded to a physician or non-physician in recognition of outstanding contributions that have significantly benefited the medical students or residents of the province of Ontario.
  • Dr. Lacey PitreResident Achievement Award — awarded for outstanding contribution to the advancement of postgraduate training. As of 2007, the award may be presented annually to one resident from each of the six provincial medical schools.
  • Dr. Wes OczkowskiGlenn Sawyer Service Award — awarded in recognition of significant service to the OMA, medical profession, or public at the community level.

Full list of OMA award winners in each category

Additionally, Hamilton Mayor Bob Bratina received a Community Service Award presented annually to non-physicians for significant contribution to the health and welfare of the people of a local community, as defined by involvement in community health and public welfare, including length of involvement, roles fulfilled in local organizations and personal achievements.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0