McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Norm Buckley and Holger Schünemann reappointed as department chairs

Published: September 8, 2014
Holger Schünemann
Dr. Holger Schünemann has been reappointed chair of the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics for a second term.
Norm Buckley
Dr. Norm Buckley has been reappointed chair of Department of Anesthesia for a third term.

Chairs of two departments of the Faculty of Health Sciences have been reappointed to five-year terms, effective July 1, 2014.

Dr. Norm Buckley will remain chair of the Department of Anesthesia, a position he has held since 2004.

Dr. Holger Schünemann retains his role as chair, Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, which he has held since 2009.

Buckley, a graduate of the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, joined the faculty in 1988. A  professor in the Department of Anesthesia, he is the inaugural director of the Michael G. DeGroote National Pain Centre at McMaster, and he was recently appointed acting scientific director for the Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Pain Research and Care.

Buckley maintains a clinical practice divided between chronic pain management and anesthesia, and he served as medical director of the Pain Management Centre at Hamilton Health Sciences from its opening in 2002 until 2014.

Holger Schünemann is a professor in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, with a joint appointment in the Department of Medicine. He joined the department in 2001 as a part-time faculty member. He also holds the Michael Gent Chair in Healthcare Research.

Besides teaching, he maintains a research program with interests focused on guideline development, systematic reviews and health-related quality of life. He is author and co-author of more than 400 peer reviewed scientific articles, book chapters and books.

Schünemann maintains a clinical practice in internal medicine and is a member on boards and committees of international organizations, including the board of trustees of the Guideline International Network of the World Health Organization and steering committee of the Cochrane Collaboration.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0