McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Escarpment Cancer Research Institute established

Published: September 22, 2011
Escarpment Cancer Research Institute launch
The scientists of the Escarpment Cancer Research Institute at its opening event, back row, from left: Sebastien Hotte, Timothy Whelan, Gregory Pond, Jonathan Sussman, Peter Kavsak, Rosalyn Juergens. Front row, from left: Jim Julian, Hsien Seow, Denise Bryant-Lukosius, scientific director Mark Levine, Hal Hirte, Laurie Elit and Melissa Brouwers. Unavailable were Andrew Arnold, Anita Bane, Marko Simunovic and Anne Snider, director of operations for ECRI.

A distinguished team of cancer researchers has joined forces to create the Escarpment Cancer Research Institute (ECRI). Composed of 16 scientists from McMaster University and Hamilton Health Sciences, they include some of the most distinguished cancer researchers in Canada.

"Our commitment is to generate results that will have a meaningful impact in a timely fashion," Dr. Mark Levine, founding scientific director of the ECRI and chair of the Department of Oncology at McMaster. "We also believe that breakthroughs and innovations come from taking a collaborative, co-ordinated approach that optimizes the combined skills and talents of a multidisciplinary team."

ECRI scientists will work to speed up the application of research results and improve patient care by focusing on three thematic areas:

  • Clinical trials
  • Quality health care and knowledge translation research
  • Translational (bench-to-bedside) research

"This is the right time to bring together the well-established and successful cancer research groups in Hamilton, as well as newly established ones, in order to embrace and grow the opportunities for synergies in research," said Dr. John Kelton, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster.

The Escarpment Cancer Research Institute scientists and their teams will be located at the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre. In the past three years, the institute's 16 scientists have been awarded more than $45 million in research funding and they have 120 employees as associated research staff.

"The scientists joining this institute are amongst the best in their fields and each of them is already making a difference," said Murray Martin, president and CEO of Hamilton Health Sciences. "Together they will be able to build on their shared experience and expertise to achieve new goals across the cancer research spectrum."

Under the leadership of Levine, who holds the Buffett Taylor Chair in Breast Cancer Research, ECRI scientists will work across disciplines that include medical and radiation oncology, pathology, nursing, biostatistics, clinical chemistry and social sciences.

The accomplished group includes director Mark Levine along with Andrew Arnold, Anita Bane, Melissa Brouwers, Denise Bryant-Lukosius, Laurie Elit, Hal Hirte, Sebastien Hotte, Rosalyn Juergens, Jim Julian, Peter Kavsak, Gregory Pond, Hsien Seow, Marko Simunovic, Jonathan Sussman and Timothy Whelan.

In the News

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0