McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Health Sciences students named MVP athletes

Published: March 28, 2008
Keegan Selby
Keegan Selby
Karen Ho
Karen Ho

Two students of the Bachelor of Health Sciences program have been named most valuable players of their McMaster University sports teams.

Keegan Selby, a second year student, was named for the men's rugby team and Karen Ho, a fourth-year student, received the title for the women's squash team, as part of the 84th Annual Athletic Award winners announced by McMaster University yesterday.

For the first time in the ceremony, the Male and Female Athlete of the Year award were divided into team sport and individual sport winners.

The Female Athlete of the Year (Team Sport) was Lindsay Degroot (Thedford, ON) from the McMaster women's basketball team.  Degroot was named the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) West player of the year and first team Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) All-Canadian. The fourth year guard, led McMaster to an OUA Championship and CIS bronze medal.

The Female Athlete of the Year (Individual Sport) was Carly Cermak (Cambridge, ON) from the McMaster swim team. Cermak captured three medals at the OUA Championship this year. She won a gold medal in both the 400m freestyle and 200m individual, while taking home silver in the 200m individual medley.

The Male Athlete of the Year (Individual Sport) was Dave Rennalls (Mississauga, ON). Rennalls capped off his fifth and final year as a Marauder with a gold medal performance at both the OUA and CIS Wrestling Championships. The Male Athlete of the Year (Team Sport) was Nathan Groenveld (Welland, ON). Groenveld became the first Marauder to be named a first team All-Canadian since 1992. The fourth year middle helped lead McMaster to a perfect 20-0 regular season record and an OUA Championship.

McMaster also announced the Most Valuable Players from each team. The most valuable players for all the teams are as follows:

Amanda Durdan Badminton — Women's History 4
Graham Dalseg Badminton — Men's Kinesiology 3
Michael May  Baseball Civil Engineering 5
Lindsay DeGroot Basketball — Women's Psychology 4
Mouctar Diaby Basketball — Men's Commerce 1
Laura Byers Cheerleading Sociology 3
Jessica Pearo Cross-Country — Women's Kinesiology 1
Larry Abbott  Cross-Country — Men's Kinesiology 2
Sam Malone Fastpitch Psychology 2
Nora Magarody Fencing — Women's Arts & Science 2
Michael Irvine Fencing — Men's Electrical Engineering 4
Jacquiline Evans Field Hockey Arts & Science 2
Nicki Britten Figure Skating Kinesiology 1
Adam Archibald Football — Offense Geography 3
Simon Binder Football — Defense Commerce 3
Candi Campbell Golf — Women's Science 1
Matt Jacobs Golf — Men's Social Science 3
Erin Berenbaum Gymnastics Kinesiology 2
Tali Landgraff Lacrosse — Women's Psychology & Women's Studies 4
David Hogarth Lacrosse — Men's Commerce 4
Elise McCormick Rowing — Women's Arts & Science 4
Chris Zulinov Rowing — Men's CMST & Media 3
Sarah Van Hoof Rugby — Women's Materials & Management Engineering 3
Keegan Selby Rugby — Men's Health Science 2
Cheryl Druchok Soccer — Women's Kinesiology 3
Kyle Grootenboer Soccer — Men's Life Science 2
Karen Ho Squash — Women's Health Science 4
Ahmed Shohayeb Squash — Men's Mechanical Engineering 2
Carly Cermak Swimming — Women's Psychology 5
Simon Gabsch Swimming — Men's Commerce 3
Charlotte Peer Synchro Swim CMST & Media 4
Lee Chapman Tennis — Women's Communications 3
Artur Suski Tennis — Men's Molecular Biology 4
Jill Wyman Track & Field — MD — Women's Science 1
Noah Fleming Track & Field — MD — Men's Kinesiology 2
Erika Scott Track & Field — S — Women's Kinesiology 3
Nick Holbik-Siu Track & Field — S — Men's Anthropology 4
Jennifer Holt Volleyball — Women's Kinesiology 3
Nathan Groenveld Volleyball — Men's Political Science 4
Jen Doto Water Polo — Women's Commerce 4
Richard Saunders Water Polo — Men's Psychology 3
Meghan Bryden Wrestling — Women's Kinesiology 2
Dave Rennalls Wrestling — Men's Civil Engineering & Management 5
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0