McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Two FHS professors named to prestigious Royal Society of Canada

Published: July 16, 2007
Brian Haynes
Brian Haynes

Two Faculty of Health Sciences professors have been elected to the prestigious Royal Society of Canada (RSC), the organization has announced. They are among six McMaster faculty members named, the largest contingent from the University to be honoured by the Society in a single year.

Brian Haynes, professor and chair of the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, will receive a citation from the Academy of Science. Geoff Norman, professor and director of the Program for Educational Research and Development will receive a citation from the Academy of Social Sciences.
Founded in 1882, RSC is Canada’s oldest and most prestigious scholarly organization, and election to its membership is considered the highest honour among scholars, artists and scientists in Canada. The announcement brings to 70 the total number of professors at McMaster who have been elected to the RSC. This year’s fellows will be inducted at a ceremony in Edmonton on November 17.

Improving clinical and health care through better ways to retrieve and disseminate health care information is the focus of Brian Haynes’ work. Haynes was the first to probe an international array of medical journal articles, discovering that less than 1% of the diagnosis, prognosis and treatments espoused by the articles were scientifically valid and clinically applicable. He set up a health knowledge repository of both evidence-based journals and internet information services.

Geoffrey Norman
Geoff Norman

Geoff Norman has earned international recognition in the area of medical education by probing clinical reasoning, in particular, the thought process used by doctors when arriving at a diagnosis. He has won a number of prestigious awards for his accomplishments in improving the teaching and assessment of medical students.

Other McMaster professors who will receive a citation from the Academy of Science are Walter Craig, Department of Mathematics & Statistics; John MacGregor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Max Wong, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. Daphne Maurer of the Department of Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour will receive a citation from the Academy of Social Sciences.

Walter Craig has made lasting contributions to the area of nonlinear partial differential equations, particularly as they apply to the mathematical study of water waves. As director of the Applied and Industrial Mathematics Laboratory at McMaster, he has served as a mentor and academic leader for hundreds of young mathematicians.

Daphne Maurer is internationally recognized for her work concerning the developmental and perceptual world of infants. Her research found that infants perceive an organized world of colour and form, and one that is continually fine-tuned throughout development, challenging previous theories that infants experience a "blooming, buzzing confusion".

John MacGregor has made contributions to the areas of data analytic methods, advanced process control and polymer reaction engineering. His pioneering research on latent variable modeling was adopted by businesses around the world for its method of analysis, monitoring and quality control. His research in batch processes has been similarly influential, and has helped to define the field.

Max Wong, chair  of the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, is a leader in signal processors in communication, radar and sonar systems. He has solved design problems in line and wireless communications previously thought impossible. Wong’s inventions include the transmultiplexer and the wavelet echo canceller, used in our telephone systems; his algorithms in target detection and estimation are used in our defence systems.
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0