McMaster University

McMaster University

About Us

The Program for Faculty Development (PFD) in the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University, as a member of the Continuing Academic and Scholarly Career Development (CASCaDe) group, is committed to supporting and enabling our interprofessional faculty to fulfill their academic and professional responsibilities as educators, scholars, academic clinicians, leaders and university citizens.

Vision

To inspire lifelong engagement in the professional growth and development of faculty members and academic communities in the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University.

Mission

PFD's mission is informed by the core tenets of the Faculty of Health Sciences and its mandate for social accountability*, namely: interprofessional collaboration, innovation, excellence, partnerships, diversity, responsibility, integrity, respect and commitment to our community.

Our mission is to build and sustain capacity in Health Sciences Education by:

  • Preparing faculty for their professional and academic roles
  • Supporting faculty in their personal growth and professional career development
  • Facilitating the development of educational leaders and leadership
  • Promoting academic scholarship, life-long learning, and curricular renewal
  • Celebrating and Recognizing faculty achievement, excellence, innovation and collaboration

    *WHO definition: "the obligation to direct their education, research, and service activities towards addressing the priority health concerns of the community, region and/or nation they have a mandate to serve" (Health Canada, 2001, https://www.afmc.ca/about-afmc/social-accountability-mandate )

We welcome you to our website and sincerely hope that you will find it helpful.

30th anniversary logo

 

Anne Wong, MD, PhD, FRCP(C)
Assistant Dean (beginning, Sept. 1/12)
wongan@mcmaster.ca


Annette F. Sciarra

Program Administrator
sciarra@mcmaster.ca


Elda DiCroce

Administrative Assistant
dicroce@mcmaster.ca


Ilana Bayer

Director, Learning Technologies Lab (LTL)
bayer@mcmaster.ca


Jason Lamb
Instructional Assist., Learning Technologies Lab (LTL)
lambjc@mcmaster.ca


Yvonne Lawlor

Director, Professionalism Series
lawlory@mcmaster.ca


Joyce Zazulak
Director, NARRATIVE Healthcare Series zazulj@mcmaster.ca


Allyn Walsh 
Director, PBSG-ED
(Practice Based Small Group - Education) modules
walsha@mcmaster.ca


Ken Burgess
Lead, Discovering Resilience
kburgess@cogeco.ca


Lorie Shimmell
Lead, Problem Based Learning (PBL)
shimmelj@mcmaster.ca


Anne Niec
Co-Lead, Hidden Curriculum
Co-Facilitator, Professionalism
nieca@mcmaster.ca

April Kam
Co-Lead, Hidden Curriculum
kama@mcmaster.ca


Carinne Wood
Co-Facilitator, Simulation-Based Learning
cawood@mcmaster.ca


Deepak Dath
Lead, Communication and Interprofessional Team Work
dathd@mcmaster.ca


Waterloo Regional Campus - Faculty Development

Catherine Tong
scrubs79@gmail.com


Niagara Regional Campus - Faculty Development

Anjali Kundi
anjalikundi@hotmail.com

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0