McMaster University

McMaster University

Department of Oncology Banner Department of Oncology Banner Department of Oncology Banner
Medical Oncology Radiation Oncology Malignant Hematology McMaster

In the New

Awards and Academic Success

Dr. Alan Neville has been appointed Associate Dean, Health Professional Education effective July 1, 2015. In his new role, Dr. Neville will oversee the Faculty’s health professional programs including medicine, midwifery, and physician assistant. He is also responsible for educational infrastructure and the development of interprofessional education.See more

Dr. Bindi Dhesy has been appointed Associate Chair, Education effective September 1, 2015. Dr. Dhesy was first appointed Department Education Coordinator in May 2012. In her capacity as DEC she has been a tireless advocate for education. She is actively involved in educational activities, mentors faculty with tenure and promotion, coordinates annual educational retreats, and has initiated a strategic plan in education for the department. See more

Dr. Timothy Whelan has been appointed Associate Chair, Research effective September 1, 2015. Dr. Whelan holds a Tier I CRC Chair in Breast Cancer Research. His leadership in key clinical trials has led to practice change on an international level. His research has always been well informed by his appreciation that every patient's priorities are different and that these priorities help drive the questions we pursue through research. As Associate Chair, Research, Tim will be refreshing and developing the Department's strategic plan for research and developing mechanisms to create an energetic environment that fosters and applies research that supports excellence in cancer care for our patients and for the health care system. See more

Denise Bryant Lukosius has been awarded the 2015 CANO Lifetime Achievement Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievements with a lasting legacy or impact. Denise has played many roles in support of CANO including past Board member, national education advisory committee co-chair, strategic planning committee chair, Canadian oncology nursing education project chair, and past recipient of the Helen Hudson Lecture. Denise has received international recognition for her contributions to Advanced Practice Nursing research and education, mentorship, and models of care work focusing on improving cancer patient experiences and health outcomes.

Dr. Andrew Arnold has been appointed as the Chair of the Ontario Leadership Council for the Canadian Cancer Clinical Trials Network (3CTN). 3CTN is a pan-Canadian initiative designed to improve the efficiency and quality of clinical trials in Canada, providing support to enable sites to increase their capacity and capability to conduct academic trials.

Dr. Arnold has been involved in the development of 3CTN since the original grant process three years ago and is currently the PI of the Hamilton-based 3CTN Network Cancer Centre (NCC), one of 5 Ontario 3CTN Network Cancer Centres which include the London Health Sciences Centre Research Institute, the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Sunnybrook Research Institute and the Ottawa Research Institute. The JCC and our affiliates in St Catharines and Cambridge make up the Hamilton-based NCC.

Dr. Tim Whelan's research, which examined the addition of regional nodal irradiation to whole-breast irradiation compared with whole-breast irradiation alone, is the lead article in the prestigious New England Journal of Medicine. Read more

Dr. Gregory Pond received a five year $1.5M OICR Investigator Award to continue his work on the design, conduct, analysis and interpretation of clinical trials research.

Dr. Julie Arsenault’s abstract submission from the ASTRO Annual Meeting entitled “Acute Toxicity and Quality of Life of Hypofractionated Radiation Therapy for Breast Cancer” was selected by the Best of ASTRO Program Committee and will be discussed at the 2015 Best of ASTRO meeting in San Diego on November 13-14, 2015.

Teaching Awards

Dr. Bindi Dhesy, was awarded Outstanding Clinical Teacher of the Year in Medical Oncology. Dr. Raimond Wong, was awarded Outstanding Clinical Teacher of the Year in Radiation Oncology

Both were presented with their awards at this year's Annual Meeting held on June 19th at the Ancaster Mill. On hand were Oren Levine and Lacey Pitre (Chief Residents, Medical Oncolgy) who presented Bindi with her award, and Kara Schnarr (Chief Resident, Radiation Oncology) for Raimond Wong.

New Associate Professors

Dr. Anita Bane

New Associate Clinical Professor

Dr. Thomas Corbett

New Professors

Dr. Melissa Brouwers
Dr. Peter Ellis


Worth Mentioning

The Department of Oncology Fellowship Progam has recently established new offices dedicated to our fellows, located on the 1st floor of the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre, 60 (G) Wing, Room 131A. We welcome four new fellows to our program, Dr. Aziz Alfarsi, Dr. Naghmeh Isfahanian, Dr. Oren Levine, and Dr. Emad Tashkandi. For more information on our Fellowship Program and a complete listing of our fellows please see Fellowship Program

Congratulations to Punam Rana and her husband who welcomed a baby boy on August 25th. Both are doing well.

Mark Levine became a grandfather for the first time with the birth of two grand daughters, Yael Sadie on March 28th to son Oren and daughter-in-law Jessica, and Ayla on June 30th to daughter Yonina and son-in-law Adam.

Weclome back to Greg Pond who recently traveled to Southampton in the UK for two months as part of his research leave examining the processes and performance of network systems in the UK. He attended the UK Clinical Research Network (UKCRN) where he worked with Dr. Gareth Griffiths. The UKCRN is a world-model for increasing recruitment to clinical trials in a cost-efficient manner.


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0