McMaster University

McMaster University

Distinguished service award goes to Janet Landeen

Published: February 12, 2016
Janet Landeen at CASN awards
Above: Left to Right: Kirsten Woodend, President CASN Board of Directors, 2015-2016, Dean Trent-Fleming School of Nursing, Trent University; Janet Landeen, Associate Professor, School of Nursing, McMaster University; Cynthia Baker, Executive Director, CASN

Dr. Janet Landeen of McMaster University’s School of Nursing has earned the Ethel Johns Award from CASN. The Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing bestows the award annually for “distinguished service to nursing education in Canada”. ¬†She attended the award ceremony in Ottawa on Nov. 16, 2015.

“It was an absolute honour,” says Landeen. “It was certainly one of the pinnacles of my nursing career to be honoured by that group of colleagues at a national level for all of my work in nursing education. It was absolutely special.”

CASN cited Landeen’s expertise in leading the recent renewal of the McMaster-Mohawk-Conestoga BScN curriculum as one of the reasons for the recognition. In addition, during her career, Landeen has conducted research on clinical simulation and problem-based learning and was an early advocate for reflection as a learning tool. More recently, she led an interdisciplinary team that was studying the experience of students in joint college-university programs like the McMaster-Mohawk-Conestoga collaborative BScN. Landeen also serves on the Accreditation Board of CASN, and as Chair of the CASN/CFMHN Mental Health and Addiction Task Force.

Landeen became a member of faculty in the School of Nursing at McMaster in 1987. She has been full time with the School of Nursing since 1998 and was Assistant Dean of the Undergraduate Nursing Education Program from 2004-2012.

According to the CASN website: “The Ethel Johns Award from CASN is named after the founding Director of the first university nursing program in Canada. It is given in recognition of distinguished service to nursing education in Canada. CASN has presented this award to outstanding nursing education leaders since 1988. This award is presented annually at the Fall CASN Council meeting. Recipients of the CASN Ethel Johns Award demonstrate the following characteristics: Has demonstrated leadership in curriculum development, administration, teaching, and research; Has made significant contributions to the CASN Council and committees over many years at national and international levels; and, Has strengthened the quality of nursing education and the nursing profession.”

If you have news items to share, please email them to Guylaine Spencer at

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0