Division of Respirology

Ian W. Rodger

BSc, PhD, FRCP(Edin)

Professor Emeritus, Division of Respirology, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences





Education and Professional Standing

Ian Rodger is Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.  Previously he was Vice President, Research and Academic, Director of the Father Sean O’Sullivan Research Centre at St Joseph’s Hospital and Professor, Department of Medicine, McMaster University. Prior to this Dr Rodger was Executive Medical Director at Merck & Co Inc, USA and before that Senior Director and Head of the Department of Pharmacology at the Merck Frosst Centre for Therapeutic Research in Montreal, Canada. During this period he was responsible for leading the pharmacological effort that led to the discovery of the anti-asthmatic drug, montelukast (Singulair®), and the non-steroidal Cox-2-selective anti-inflammatory drugs, etoricoxib (Arcoxia®) and rofecoxib (Vioxx®).

Dr Rodger received both his Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy and his PhD in Pharmacology from the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

Prior to joining Merck Dr Rodger was Professor of Pharmacology in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland from 1987-1991.  He then held a position as Professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada from 1993-1999.

Selected Publications

Dr Rodger has authored or co-authored over 200 original scientific articles and edited 5 books in the fields of asthma and inflammation. He is a widely sought speaker having given over 1000 invited presentations worldwide. He has held several editorial positions including Editor-in-Chief of Pulmonary Pharmacology and Associate Editor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Dr Rodger is a member of the British Pharmacological Society, the Pharmacological Society of Canada, the American Thoracic Society and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.