Division of Respirology

Gail Marie Gauvreau

BSc, MSc, PhD

Professor, Division of Respirology, Department of Medicine



Research Interests

  • Airway Inflammation
  • Allergic Mechanisms
  • Inflammatory cell activation
  • Receptor regulation/signaling
  • Leukotriene biology

Awards and Distinctions

  • CFI New Opportunities Fund Award (2004)
  • Department of Medicine Career Award (2003-2006)


  • Ontario Thoracic Society: "Airway Inflammation in COPD: A cross sectional study comparing inflammatory features on sputum analysis" (07/04 - 06/05)
  • Ontario Thoracic Society: "Airway Inflammatory Cells – Expression of TH2 genes and regulation by inhaled steroids" (07/05 - 06/06)
  • Glaxo Smith Kline, Altana Pharma, ONO Pharmaceuticals, Pfizer Canada, Boehringer Ingleheim: Multi-center clinical trials in asthma and COPD (09/03 - present)

Selected Publications

  1. Expression of functional cysteinyl leukotriene receptors by human basophils J Allergy Clin Immunology 2005; 116:80-7.
  2. The Effect of Cysteinyl Leukotrienes on Growth of Eosinophil Progenitors from Peripheral Blood and Bone Marrow of Atopic Subjects. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 2002; 110:96?101.
  3. Differences in Functional Consequences and Signal Transduction Induced by IL-3, IL-5, and Nerve Growth Factor in Human Basophils. J Immunol 2001; 167:2282-2291.
  4. Hemopoietic progenitors: the role of eosoinophil-basophil progenitors in allergic airway inflammation. Expert Rev Clin Immunol 2005; 1:87-101.
  5. Basophils in airway disease. Curr Allergy Asthma Rep. 2002 Mar;2(2):126?32.
  6. The Effects of an Anti-CD11a Monoclonal Antibody, Efalizumab, on Allergen-Induced Airway Responses and Airway Inflammation in Atopic Asthmatic Subjects. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 2003; 112:331-338.


  • Trudy MacLean M.Sc candidate
  • Michelle Evans M.Sc candidate
  • Aaron Young M.Sc candidate
  • Eric Farrell M.Sc candidate
  • Lena Saleh M.Sc candidate
  • Tara Strinich (Research technician; airway sampling)
  • Karen Howie (Research technician; tissue culture)