Division of Gastroenterology


Congratulations to the following faculty members on receiving these notable awards and honours:


David Armstrong

Dr. David Armstrong
Canadian Association of Gastroenterology Education Excellence Award for 2009 for his contribution to the research and development of educational programs.



David Morgan

Dr. David Morgan
President for the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology



Paul MoayyediProfessor Paul Moayyedi
Director (Acting) of the Farncombe Family Digestive Health Research Institute. Appointed as Joint Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Gastroenterology (AJG) with Dr WD Chey beginning January 2010.



Elena VerduDr. Elena Verdú
Operating Grant CAG/CIHR, Project title: "Modulation of intestinal barrier function in gluten sensitivity."



David ArmstrongDr. David Armstrong
Innovation Grant, Hamilton Academic Health Sciences Organization, $200,000. Project title:The McMaster HHS IBD Clinic - An Integrated, Advanced Practice-Nurse-Based, Patient-Centred, Chronic Care Model for Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)


Stephen CollinsDr. Stephen Collins
CCFC Research Leadership Award.This prestigious award from the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada was presented at the recent IBD 2009 meeting for exceptional contributions to the Foundation and to the IBD research community over the past 25 years.


Richard HuntDr. Richard Hunt
Delivered the prestigious Bockus Lecture at the 2009 World Congress of Gastroenterology



Waliul KhanDr. Wali Khan
CFI award over $250,000



Elena VerduDr. Elena Verdú
2010 J. A. Campbell Research Award from the Canadian Celiac Association



Premysl BercikDr. Premysl Bercik
AFP Internal Career Research Award