McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Undergraduate Nursing Education Committee

The Undergraduate Nursing Education Committee functions to recommend academic and non-academic policy decisions to the Health Sciences Education Council and from there to Faculty Council, Undergraduate Council and Senate; and to the Nursing Education Consortium Steering Committee (Steering).  It refers issues to and receives issues from each of its standing committees.

Duties and Responsibilities

  • Generate and make recommendations for strategic directions for undergraduate nursing education.
  • Make recommendations to Faculty Council and Undergraduate Council through the Health Sciences Education Committee regarding curriculum; evaluation of students, faculty and program; and admission of students to the Program.
  • Ensure the existence of a mechanism for reviewing all in course student progress and graduand results in the BScN Program.
  • Ensure that the educational philosophy and McMaster Model of Nursing are reflected in policies of all undergraduate nursing education programs.
  • Form standing committees and task groups as needed to ensure the effective administration of any undergraduate nursing education programs
  • Review and approve recommendations from standing committees, task groups, advisory groups and undergraduate nursing education programs on their consistency with Faculty of Health Sciences policies and their educational standards.
  • Make recommendations to and consider matters from the Nursing Education Consortium Steering Committee (Steering) regarding issues with resource implications that cross the partner institutions.
  • Make recommendations to and consider matters from the BScN Operations Committee with respect to the implementation of policy directives.

Six standing committees of the Undergraduate Nursing Education Committee:

  • Undergraduate Nursing Education Reviewing Committee
  • BScN Operations Committee (formerly BScN Executive Committee)
  • BScN Undergraduate Nursing Admissions Committee
  • Curriculum Quality, Sustainability, and Innovation Committee
  • Program Evaluation Committee
  • Awards Committee

The Undergraduate Nursing Education Committee for the School of Nursing in the Faculty of Health Sciences consists of the following members:

Voting Members

  • Chair: Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Nursing Education Programs, McMaster
  • Three representatives from institutional partners appointed by the Associate Dean (Nursing) for a two year term, renewable once.
  • Three elected faculty members (one from each collaborative partner) for a two-year term, renewable once.
  • Three student representatives from MUNSS consisting of President, Education Representative, and Post-RPN Representatives for a one year term, renewable 3 times.
  • One representative of the Nursing Branch, FHS Alumni Branch Council, McMaster University Alumni Association for a two-year term, renewable once.

Ex Officio (voting members)

  • Associate Dean, Nursing, McMaster University
  • Coordinator of Studies of the Undergraduate Nursing Education Program
  • Associate Dean, BScN Program, Mohawk College
  • Chair, BScN Program, Conestoga College
  • Assistant Dean, Academic Resources, McMaster University       

Ex Officio (non-voting members)

  • Program Administrator, BScN Program
  • Program Manager, Consortium
  • Administrative Assistant, BScN Program
  • Dean and Vice-President, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Associate Dean (Education), Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty Development Chair, BScN Program
  • Chairs of UNEC standing committees


Held quarterly, normally on the 4th Monday of the month or more frequently at the call of the Chair. Plus virtual meetings as necessary.

Updated May 13, 2014

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0