McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Three honoured with new University Scholar prize

Published: April 23, 2015
Mohit Bhandari
Mohit Bhandari, professor, Department of Surgery
Gregory Steinberg
Gregory Steinberg, professor, Department of Medicine
P.J. Devereaux
P.J. Devereaux, professor, Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Three members of the Faculty of Health Sciences have been honoured with McMaster University's new University Scholar title, which is intended to recognize faculty members in mid-career who have already distinguished themselves as international scholars.

Mohit Bhandari, professor of surgery; Gregory Steinberg, professor of medicine; and P.J. Devereaux, professor of clinical epidemiology and biostatistics, have been announced, along with six other faculty members from across campus.

Recipients of this award are considered global leaders in a number of diverse research areas and academic disciplines, and the award recognizes those who have demonstrated excellence and innovation in research, teaching and service.

Bhandari holds the Canada Research Chair in Evidence-Based Orthopedic Surgery. His clinical interests include the care of patients with musculoskeletal injuries, and his research broadly focuses upon clinical trials, meta-analyses, methodological aspects of surgery trials and the translation of evidence into surgical practice.

Devereaux's clinical research focuses on perioperative vascular medicine in patients undergoing non-cardiac surgery. He was the principal investigator of the POISE trial, the world's largest cardiac randomized controlled trial in patients undergoing non-cardiac surgery. Devereaux has published over 200 peer reviewed papers and 63 editorials, book chapters and commentaries. 

Steinberg holds the Canada Research Chair in Metabolism, Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes and is co-director of MAC-Obesity, the Metabolism and Childhood Obesity Research Program at McMaster. His research involves understanding how hormones regulate the body's storage and breakdown of fat and its response to insulin.

The 2015 University Scholar recipients from outside health sciences include:

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0