McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Paul O'Byrne to be new dean & vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences

Published: December 10, 2015
Paul O'Byrne
Paul O'Byrne, professor, Department of Medicine, has been appointed as the new dean & vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Following an international search, the next dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences has been confirmed.  Paul O'Byrne, currently chair of McMaster's Department of Medicine, will assume the role on July 1, 2016.

"The Selection Committee has made an outstanding decision," said McMaster president, Patrick Deane.  "Paul has proven in countless ways his commitment to the University and its joint research and education mission.  He has a unique ability to lead and inspire others to reach their full potential, and he has earned his place as one of the University's most senior and accomplished researchers."

After training as a doctor at University College, Dublin, O'Byrne joined the Faculty of Health Sciences as a resident in 1977.  He assumed a wide array of research and administrative leadership roles becoming a tenured professor in 1994.  Since 2002, he has chaired the Faculty's largest Department, which has doubled in size under his guidance.  He serves as the executive director of the Firestone Institute for Respiratory Health based at St. Joseph's Healthcare and leads the AllerGen NCE Clinical Investigator Collaborative.  He is a named Fellow at several international Colleges of Physicians, was selected to the Royal Society of Canada in 2010 and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2015 and named a Distinguished University Professor that same year.

"The Faculty of Health Sciences is unique in the world," said O'Byrne.  "It is very successful, very collegial and extraordinarily collaborative in advancing science, patient care and education.  I'm honoured to have the opportunity to ensure that success has every opportunity to continue.  I couldn't dream of a better job."

The Selection Committee unanimously endorsed the decision to recommend O'Byrne's appointment, which has now been approved by both Senate and the Board of Governors.

O'Byrne takes over from John Kelton who has led the Faculty for the past 15 years.  During his tenure the Faculty has significantly enhanced its national and international reputation for excellence.  The Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine is consistently ranked as one of the top three health programs in Canada, and in the top 50 in the world. 

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0