McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Oncology nurse wins lifetime award … early

Published: November 24, 2015
Denise Bryant-Lukosius
Denise Bryant-Lukosius, associate professor, School of Nursing and Department of Oncology

Denise Bryant-Lukosius was surprised recently to hear that she had been selected for a lifetime achievement award.

"This is quite an honour to be recognized by my colleagues, but it was fully unexpected as I have a lot of my career ahead of me," said Bryant-Lukosius, an associate professor of the School of Nursing and the Department of Oncology at McMaster. She joined McMaster's faculty in 2001.

She received the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology (CANO). The award acknowledges the outstanding contributions to oncology nursing and cancer care in Canada.

Bryant-Lukosius has 25 years of experience as an oncology clinical nurse specialist and is now a clinician scientist at the Juravinski Cancer Centre. She has been recognized at the provincial, national and international levels as both an educator and a researcher.

In announcing the award, Barbara Fitzgerald, the president of CANO/ACIO, said: "Denise is a pioneer. She developed one of the few adult oncology nursing education programs available in the early 90's at McMaster University. She has developed and evaluated models of care and interventions for optimal cancer survivorship, she established and co-directs the Canadian Centre of Advanced Practice Nursing Research, and she is the Director of the Canadian Centre of Excellence in Oncology Advanced Practice Nursing (OAPN). Denise is passionate about a national strategy for optimizing the development of APN roles in cancer control.

"Denise's work has enhanced the association's ability to advocate for the unique role of oncology nurses in the Canadian health care system. It is Denise's vision and determination that continues to contribute to our national mission of advancing oncology nursing excellence."

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0