McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

2014 Call for nominations to the Community of Distinction

Published: January 14, 2014

The Faculty of Health Sciences is looking to honour former faculty, staff or alumni whose accomplishments in health sciences have brought worldwide renown to the Faculty and McMaster University.

Nominations are sought for a group of three to five contributors to be inducted into the Community of Distinction in 2014.

The Community began in 2003, and now has 42 members. Their portraits, along with brief descriptions of their outstanding accomplishments, are in a gallery in the lobby of the Ewart Angus Centre of McMaster’s Health Sciences Centre.

Deadline for nominations: Monday, June 16, 2014

Individuals chosen will be notified by the Dean and Vice-President and invited to attend the announcement and induction at a ceremony on Friday, November 7, 2014.

The criterion is distinguished contribution in scholarship or in the science or delivery of health care, or demonstrated outstanding leadership that is recognized by peers.  Those eligible include former full-time and part-time faculty, staff and alumni of the Faculty of Health Sciences.  Candidates cannot be currently employed or hold a contract with the Faculty of Health Sciences.  For an outline of requirements, please review the Community of Distinction Nomination Criteria.

Click here to send email to Betty Chung
with nominations for Community of Distinction 2014

Betty Chung
Telephone: (905) 525-9140, extension 20914

Members of the Community of Distinction

  • James Anderson
  • Oded Bar-Or
  • Howard Barrows
  • John Basmajian
  • Arthur N. Bourns
  • Moran Campbell
  • May Cohen
  • Barbara Cooper
  • Edwin Daniel
  • Jerry Dolovich
  • Murray Enkin
  • Nathan Epstein
  • John Evans
  • Barbara Ferrier
  • Susan French
  • Michael Gent
  • Gerhard Gerber
  • Frank Graham
  • Freddy Hargreave
  • Jack Hirsh
  • Norman Jones
  • Karyn Kaufman
  • Alan McComas
  • Ludmila (Niky) Melichar
  • Barber Mueller
  • J. Fraser Mustard
  • Bernie O’Brien
  • Dan Offord
  • Alma Reid
  • Beatrix Robinow
  • Helen Saarinen-Rahikka
  • David Sackett
  • Karin von Schilling
  • John Sellors
  • Jack Sinclair
  • Ruth Snider
  • Bill Spaulding
  • Harry Thode
  • John Thomas
  • George Torrance
  • William Walsh
  • Alvin Zipursky
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0