McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Three Faculty department chairs reappointed

Published: June 28, 2012

John Kelton, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences, has announced the reappointment of three department chairs.

Paul O’Byrne, chair of the Department of Medicine; Mark Levine, chair of the Department of Oncology and David Koff, chair of the Department of Radiology begin five-year terms on July 1.

Paul O’Byrne

Paul O’Byrne

Paul O’Byrne has been chair of the Department of Medicine since 2002. He is the E.J. Moran Campbell Professor of Medicine and the executive director of the Firestone Institute for Respiratory Health at St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton.

He obtained his medical degree at University College Dublin and his training in internal medicine and respiratory medicine at McMaster University.

The professor joined the full-time faculty of the University in 1984.

His research interests include the mechanisms and treatment of asthma with particular reference to the role of environmental allergens and the mechanisms that cause airway inflammation, and he has published more than 340 papers; authored 90 book chapters, and edited 12 books. 

He has received many awards for his work and was elected to the Royal Society of Canada in 2010.

Hertzel Gerstein

Mark Levine

Mark Levine became chair of the new Department of Oncology in 2007. He holds the Buffett Taylor Chair in Breast Cancer Research at McMaster University

Levine received his medical degree from McGill University; completed his residency in internal medicine at McMaster and his training in hematology and oncology at Duke University Medical Centre. He also has a master’s degree in clinical epidemiology and biostatistics from McMaster.

In 1982, Levine became a faculty member of McMaster and a medical oncologist at the Juravinski Cancer Centre of the Hamilton Health Sciences. He has been an active researcher in clinical trials and health services research with a focus in breast cancer, thromboembolism in malignancy and functional imaging. He is the director of the Ontario Clinical Oncology Group (OCOG) and last year established the Escarpment Cancer Research Institute at McMaster University and Hamilton Health Sciences.

Hertzel Gerstein

David Koff

David Koff has been chair of the Department of Radiology at McMaster and chief of diagnostic imaging at Hamilton Health Sciences since early 2008.

He is an associate professor of radiology at McMaster University and is the founder and director of the Medical Imaging Informatics Research Centre (MIIRCAM) at McMaster, leading research projects on radiation monitoring and integration of images in the electronic patient record.

Koff graduated in medicine and radiology from Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France and had clinical fellowships in chest and body imaging and pediatric radiology in Toronto.

For the last 15 years, Koff’s research has centred on the electronic communication and workflow integration of medical images, and he helped develop the Canadian standards on lossy compression. He has just been named president of the Canadian Heads of Academic Radiology Departments.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0