McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Stroke researcher awarded Canada Research Chair

Published: March 26, 2010
Guillaume Paré
Guillaume Paré, an assistant professor in the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine

A McMaster University physician-scientist who is developing more effective stroke prevention strategies has been awarded the Canada Research Chair in Genetic and Molecular Epidemiology.

Guillaume Paré, an assistant professor in the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine, is one of three McMaster researchers to be named today to the prestigious Canada Research Chairs program by the federal government.

The announcement was made this morning at McMaster by David Sweet, MP for Ancaster, Dundas, Flamborough, Westdale, and Mo Elbestawi, McMaster’s vice-president of research and international affairs.

Paré, who joined the Faculty of Health Sciences from Harvard Medical School, holds a joint appointment in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics. His innovative research program into stroke prevention involves using a different set of tools — cutting-edge genomic techniques and biomarker analysis to decipher the genetic architecture of strokes and better identify people who are at risk.

By analyzing biomarkers — biological molecules found in blood — he can, for example, study whether some people carry a gene that makes their blood more likely to clot and interrupt the blood flow to the brain. He will also be able to provide valuable insights into the sorts of preventative measures, drug therapies and lifestyle changes that will reduce the number of strokes in Canada.

The recipients of McMaster’s other new Canada Research Chairs announced today are Megan Brickley, who studies bone abnormalities in ancient communities, and Katherine Cuff, who researches the daily impact on Canadians of government economic policies.

Brickley is a Tier 1 Chair for senior scientists, and will receive $1.4-million over seven years. Paré and Cuff are Tier 2 Chairs and will each receive $500,000 over five years. 

Seven other researchers have been re-appointed to the Canada Research Chair program: Tim Davidson, John Eikelboom, Marie Elliot, Raja Ghosh, Manel Jordana, Mohit Bhandari, and Bob Pelton.

The Canada Research Chairs program was established in 2000 by the federal government to help Canadian universities attract and retain the world’s best researchers. To date, McMaster University boasts 64 Canada Research Chairs, with 26 in the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0