McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences



Health students receive prestigious Vanier scholarships

Published: May 1, 2009
Peter George
Peter George, president of McMaster University

Four Faculty of Health Sciences are among the eight McMaster students who have received the prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships, a new program introduced by the federal government to attract and retain world-class doctoral students and make this country a global leader in higher education research.

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology) made the announcement in Ottawa yesterday. 

"The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships Program demonstrates the federal government’s ongoing commitment to attract and support the world’s leading researchers," said Peter George, president of McMaster University, in response.

"Not only does a program like this recognize the important role graduate work plays in shaping and enhancing our society, but it also provides invaluable support to train our next generation of researchers."

A total of 166 scholarships, valued at $50,000 each, are to be awarded annually for up to three years.  Canada’s three federal granting agencies, Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) will administer the program. 

Vanier Scholarship Winners from McMaster University

CIHR Winning Recipients

  • Beata Batorowicz,  Department of Rehabilitation Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Derek K. Chu, Department of Pathology & Molecular Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Suzanne E. Osborne, Department of Biochemistry & Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Nghi Phan, Department of Medical Physics & Applied Radiation Sciences, Faculty of Science

NSERC Winning Recipients

  • Vladimir Miskovic, McMaster Integrative Neuroscience & Discovery Graduate Program, Faculties of Science and Health Sciences
  • Nikol Piskuric, Department of Biology,  Faculty of Science

SSHRC Winning Recipients

  • Sandra Josephine Bortolin, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Kate M. Mulligan, Department of Geography & Earth Sciences, Faculties of Science, and Social Sciences

When fully operational, the program will support 500 international and Canadian doctoral students per year.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0