McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Family medicine faculty reap honours

Published: February 5, 2009

Members of McMaster University’s Department of Family Medicine received well-deserved recognition for their outstanding contributions at the Family Medicine Forum sponsored by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) in Toronto.

Top honours went to assistant clinical professor Frank Martino, who was named one of the top family doctors in Canada, receiving the Reg L. Perkin Award for his contributions to patient care and the advancement of family medicine. Dr. Martino was also named Physician of the Year for Ontario.

Among his long list of achievements, Martino was instrumental in the establishment of the McMaster University’s Family Medicine Teaching Centre at the William Osler Centre’s Brampton Civic Hospital. Martino is passionate about shaping the role of the family physician in our changing society. "I know of no other physician who better embodies what the college considers to be the model family doctor," his nominator wrote.

Dr. Ruth Wilson, CFPC president, told the recent meeting that "Family Physicians of the Year exemplify excellence in family medicine."

During the awards ceremony, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care David Caplan presented two of three Family Practices of the Year awards to McMaster University.  Winners were the Department of Family Medicine’s McMaster Family Health Team with two clinics:  McMaster Family Practice on Main Street West and Stonechurch Family Health Centre on Upper Ottawa Street. The Centre of Family Medicine Family Health Team in Kitchener-Waterloo, which is involved in teaching McMaster family medicine residents, also received a Family Practice of the Year award.

Dr. Filomena Incitti, an alumna of the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine who runs a full-time family practice in Elora, Ontario, received the 2008 Community Teacher of the Year award which recognizes excellence in a community teacher of family medicine.

For his leadership in fostering respect and understanding of minority and under-serviced peoples, associate professor Dale Guenter was presented with the Geeta Gupta Equity and Diversity Award.

Professors Juan Munoz, Jon Miklea, Michelle Howard, Russ Springate and Janusz Kaczorowski won the College of Family Physicians of Canada Outstanding Family Medicine Research Article of the Year Award for a research article published in Canadian Family Physician. Their research was entitled "Treatment of benign paroxysmal positional vertigo with the canalith repositioning manoeuvre in family practice: A randomized controlled trial."

Several other of the department’s faculty members also won Awards of Excellence. Recipients were David Chan, Denise Marshall, Lynn Nash, Kanwal Shankardass and Jennifer Everson.

"McMaster has reason to be proud of the incredible accomplishments of so many members of the department of family medicine," said David Price, chair of the Department of Family Medicine.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0