McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Call for nominations to the Community of Distinction 2009

Published: January 27, 2009

The Faculty of Health Sciences is looking to honour former faculty, staff or alumni whose accomplishments in health sciences have brought worldwide renown to the Faculty and McMaster University.

Nominations are sought for a group of three to five contributors to be inducted into the Community of Distinction in 2009.

The Community began in 2003, and now has 29 members. Their portraits, along with brief descriptions of their outstanding accomplishments, are in a gallery in the lobby of the Ewart Angus Centre of McMaster’s Health Sciences Centre.

The deadline for nominations is now closed.

Individuals chosen will be notified by the Dean and Vice-President and invited to attend the announcement and induction at a ceremony on Friday, November 6, 2009.

The criterion is distinguished contribution in scholarship or in the science or delivery of health care, or demonstrated outstanding leadership that is recognized by peers.  Those eligible include former full-time and part-time faculty, staff and alumni of the Faculty of Health Sciences.  Candidates cannot be currently employed or hold a contract with the Faculty of Health Sciences.  For an outline of requirements, please review the Nomination Criteria.

Community of Distinction nominations for 2009 should be sent via e-mail to Ruth Mullin. She may be reached by telephone at (905) 525-9140, extension 22162.

Members of the Community of Distinction

  • John Basmajian
  • Jerry Dolovich
  • Murray Enkin
  • Alma Reid
  • David Sackett
  • Harry Thode
  • J. Fraser Mustard
  • John Evans
  • May Cohen
  • Moran Campbell
  • Susan French
  • Beatrix Robinow
  • Bill Spaulding
  • William Walsh
  • James Anderson
  • Howard Barrows
  • Barber Mueller
  • Dan Offord
  • Edwin Daniel
  • Michael Gent
  • Ludmila (Niky) Melichar
  • Karin von Schilling
  • George Torrance
  • Oded Bar-Or
  • Bernie O’Brien
  • Jack Sinclair
  • Arthur N. Bourns
  • Jack Hirsh
  • Helen Saarinen-Rahikka
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0