McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Faculty of Health Sciences

Facebook YouTube

To Note

Indigenous MD talks to Hamilton family doctors

Being able to see with “one eye forward and one eye back”, with an understanding of both Indigenous and Western knowledge of health, is the topic for a public discussion this week.

Dr. Evan Adams, a former professional actor and now the medical officer of health for the First Nations Health Authority of B.C., will give the 2016 Carl Moore Lecture on Wednesday, Sept. 28 at 4:30 p.m. in the second floor auditorium of the David Braley Health Sciences Centre at 100 Main Street West. The lecture, sponsored by McMaster University’s Department of Family Medicine, is open the public and free.

“My story of two-eyed seeing – growing up with the dichotomy of Indigenous knowledges and Western knowledges – but in balance – describes a vibrant and holistic vision of wellness, healthy families and communities,” says Adams. “My work as an Indigenous public health physician focuses on improving the health care for First Nations through wide-scale health system transformation, but also on Indigenous approaches to leadership, kinship and traditional wellness.”

Read more Go to complete news story


McMaster University's Faculty of Health Sciences trains physicians, nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, health care researchers, physician assistants and midwives to work together in teams, providing the finest patient care.

Our programs cover the spectrum of health care, including the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, School of Nursing, School of Rehabilitation Science, Midwifery, a Bachelor of Health Sciences program and Canada's first physician assistants' program.

We are known for innovating small group, problem-based education, with a focus on self-directed, life-long learning, as well as the development of evidence-based medicine.

Read more Go to complete welcome message

New app for stroke survivors receives $250,000 in funding

Stroke survivors app

A $250,000 philanthropic grant from the Max Bell Foundation will allow McMaster researchers to test a new app designed to support stroke survivors using home care services.

When a patient leaves the hospital after a stroke, he or she may need a home care coordinator, a nurse, an occupational therapist, a physiotherapist, and a personal support worker. But there are often crucial delays and gaps in information-sharing among the many different service providers – and between patients and their health care team.

Researchers from McMaster's Aging, Community and Health Research Unit (ACHRU) in the School of Nursing have developed My Stroke Team (MyST), an app that enables home care workers to share information in real time, while also empowering stroke patients to actively participate in their own care.

Read more Go to complete news story

Paul O'Byrne feted by Department of Medicine

Paul O'Byrne tribute

Paul O’Byrne is a gentleman and a scholar who leads by example and is known for his honesty, intellect, calmness, kindness and supportive nature.

That was the description of O’Byrne given by many speakers at an event this week in tribute to his 14 years as the chair of McMaster’s Department of Medicine.

More than 200 current and past members of the University’s biggest department, as well as O'Byrne's family, attended the reception at the David Braley Health Sciences Centre, which was hosted by acting chair Akbar Panju. O’Byrne began his new role as the dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences in July.

Read more Go to complete news story

Two Faculty members added to prestigious Academy

Denburg Foster

Judah Denburg and Warren Foster have joined 19 other Faculty of Health Sciences faculty members as fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS).

Fellows elected to the Academy are recognized by their peers for outstanding contributions to the promotion of health science. Membership is considered one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community.

Denburg is world-renowned for his expertise in autoimmune diseases, such as systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), and for his groundbreaking research on the mechanisms of allergic inflammation and the development of allergic disease and asthma through the study of cord blood stem cells. As well, he is the founding scientific director and CEO of the Allergy, Genes & Environment Network (AllerGen). He is a professor of medicine and chief of service of the Division of Clinical Immunology & Allergy.

Read more Go to complete news story


In the Media

  • HealthDay wrote about a study presented by Michael Van Ameringen (Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences) that indicates internet addiction may signal other mental health problems in college-aged students. The story was picked up by several media outlets including CBS, Nature World News, Science Daily, the Mirror.
  • CTV's Your Morning news magazine program invited Eric Brown (Institute for Infectious Disease Research) to its studios to discuss his work to overcome antibiotic resistance by finding new uses for existing drugs. Brown was also a guest on several CBC radio morning shows.
  • The Hamilton Spectator reported on Andrew McArthur (Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences) being named to lead a national consortium of researchers using big data to study antimicrobial resistance.
  • CBC Radio's national news show The World at Six and CBC News online interviewed Hertzel Gerstein (Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics) about fresh doubts about whether conventional treatment for high blood sugar in patients with Type 2 diabetes is actually supported by evidence.
  • The National Post interviewed Catherine Hayward (Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, Health Sciences) about the array of opportunities in bioscience for a feature in its special report on higher education.
  • Reuters interviewed Guillaume Pare (Pathology and Molecular Medicine) about a new study comparing a meditation retreat with just relaxing in the same locale, both options improving stress regulation, immune function and other cellular markers in the blood.
  • The Globe and Mail published a column about research by psychologist Kathy Georgiades (McMaster's Offord Centre for Child Studies) who is studying the incidence of bullying in schools with mainly white, Canadian-born populations and at schools with mainly newcomers from African and Asian countries, and finding far less bullying at the latter.
  • The Ottawa Citizen highlighted the promise of research by Brian Lichty (Pathology and Molecular Medicine) and others in using viruses to fight cancer in a story about how venture capitalists are investing in such research.
  • VICE News, The Hamilton Spectator and CHML radio reported on a new study led by Nikhil Pai (Pediatrics) testing the effectiveness of fecal transplantation for children with inflammatory bowel disease. The study will weigh the potential advantages of introducing beneficial gut bacteria into children with IBD.
  • The Timmons Daily Press wrote about a study run by Gina Agarwal (Family Medicine) that sees paramedics running wellness clinics that have a high volume for EMS calls.
  • The Hamilton Spectator interviewed Lori Regenstreif (Family Medicine) about the city's proposal for safe injection sites for intravenous drug users to be set up in Hamilton.
  • Maclean's interviewed first-year medical resident Tara Riddell who started a blog for physicians in an attempt to encourage doctors to talk about their problems and highlight programs designed to improve mental health.
  • The Hamilton Spectator highlighted Cathy Morris (Health Sciences) earning the 2016 John C. Sibley Award for excellence in education by a part-time faculty member.
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0