McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty of
Health Sciences

Dr. Paul O'Byrne is the dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences.


The main administrative offices of the Faculty of Health Sciences are sited within the McMaster Health Sciences Centre, a building shared with the McMaster site of Hamilton Health Sciences hospitals, located on McMaster’s Main Street West campus in Hamilton, Ont.

The Faculty of Health Sciences is led by Paul O'Byrne, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences for McMaster University. He is also the dean of the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine.

The senior leadership for the Faculty includes:

  • Susan Denburg, Associate Vice-President, Academic
  • Jonathan Bramson, Associate Dean, Research
  • Alan Neville, Associate Dean, Health Professional Education
  • William Orovan, Associate Dean, Clinical Service and Commercial Enterprises
  • Mark Walton, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
  • Andrea Baumann, Associate Vice-President, Global Health
  • Sandra Carroll, Acting Associate Dean and Director, Nursing
  • Patty Solomon, Associate Dean and Director, Rehabilitation Science
  • Catherine Hayward, Associate Dean, Graduate Studies
  • Delsworth Harnish, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education

As well, the administrative team includes directors responsible for Faculty operations, including finance, education services, human resources, research administration, facilities management, computer services, development, communications and the Health Sciences Library.

Classrooms, laboratories and offices for the Faculty are also found in the Michael G. DeGroote Centre for Learning and Discovery, the Mohawk-McMaster Institute for Applied Health Sciences, at the David Braley Health Sciences Centre on Main Street in downtown Hamilton and at our academic partner hospitals, Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton. In addition, the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine has the Waterloo Regional Campus on the Downtown Kitchener Health Sciences Campus of the University of Waterloo on Victoria Street in Kitchener, Ontario and the Niagara Regional Campus at the Cairns Family Health and Bioscience Research Complex on the Brock University campus on Glenridge Avenue, St. Catharines, Ontario.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0