McMaster University

McMaster University

General Application Process for Grants

 

Health Research Services Contacts

Title Name Ext. Email Address
Associate Director Tracy Arabski 22515 arabski@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (primary assignment) Catherine Gill Pottruff 22057 gillc@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (primary assignment) Lisa Hodge 26367 hodgel@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (primary assignment) Serena Jennings 22135 sjenn@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (primary assignment) Ashley Preston 21173 presta2@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (CFI, MRI, CRC, Genome Cda) Sarah McNiven-Scott 22871 mcnivesb@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (CFI, MRI, CRC, Genome Cda) Augusta Beck 22577 becka@mcmaster.ca
Senior Advisor (CFI, MRI, CRC, Genome Cda) Shannon Biss (on leave) 22577 sbiss@mcmaster.ca
Senior Agreements Officer Caroline Woods 22006 cwoods@mcmaster.ca
Agreements Officer James Hicks 22033 hicksj6@mcmaster.ca

 

FLOWCHART OF THE COMMON PROCESS FOR RESEARCH GRANTS REVIEW

 

Research Grant Review Process

HRS updates and disseminates all funding information for the Faculty of Health Sciences. Agency Information and Deadlines appears on this Home Page and is disseminated to departments and the program administrators or to individuals upon request.

HRS reviews all Faculty of Health Sciences research and personnel award submissions (Including grants, contracts, and clinical trials) to ensure that :

  1. University/Faculty/Hospital policies and guidelines are followed,
  2. Requirements of granting agencies and government ministries are met,
  3. Appropriate institutional signatures are included.

The review is more than cursory; it is not automatic and the review period generally requires two weeks. Special arrangements may be made with the Associate Dean, Research. HRS liaises with appropriate University offices (VP Research, Research Services and Research Contracts) on behalf of researchers as necessary.

 

When submitting proposals, Health Research Services requires:

  1. Completed Health Research Services checklist with the original signature of the Department Chair (or designate)
  2. Summary of research or working/draft copy of proposal
  3. Grant signature page (signed by P.I. and Department Chair)
  4. Budget and budget justification
  5. Signed Assurances Forms (Human Ethics, Animal Ethics, Biosafety, Radiation Safety)

When funds are awarded, a notification of award (NOA)/funding agreement is required with the above paperwork to request a research account. Deposit and reporting of these funds is handled by Health Research Finance.

 

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0